Archive for January, 2009

Kyrenia District

cyprusKyrenia District is one of the (old) six districts of Cyprus. Its main town is Kyrenia (Turkish: Girne). It is the smallest of Cyprus’ districts, and is the only one fully controlled by the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, recognised only by Turkey. A district administration in “exile” exists on the Republic of Cyprus controlled part of the island.



Kirenia (gr. Κερύνεια = Kerynia) – a town in Cyprus, the Mediterranean. Population in 2006 was 28500.