Archive for April, 2009

Larnaca District

district-pic-14Larnaca District is one of the six districts of Cyprus. Its main town is Larnaca. A small part of the district was occupied by the Turkish army in 1974, and is currently controlled by the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus which is not recognized internationally. See Cyprus dispute.

The authorities in Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus administer the Turkish-occupied parts of Larnaca District as part of Nicosia District.

Larnaca hosts both a port and the island’s most important airport, Larnaca International Airport. The town also hosts the Hala Sultan Tekke mosque which is sometimes referred to as the third holiest site in Islam.